christine-donaldson-I7KBqnjN9xM-unsplash

L'EPI & LE CONFLICT HOMME ÉLÉPHANT 

La Fondation EPI poursuivra deux stratégies interdépendantes pour galvaniser le soutien aux pays du L'EPI afin de les aider à gérer et à éviter les conflits entre les humains et la faune sauvage et à assurer la coexistence harmonieuse des éléphants et des personnes jusqu'en 2030 et au-delà;

  • Gérer les conflits humains-faune existants, en déployant les meilleures technologies et techniques disponibles, et;

  • Éviter les conditions qui pourraient conduire à de futurs conflits, grâce à l'aménagement du territoire et, là encore, à la meilleure utilisation des technologies et techniques disponibles.

La Fondation EPI attirera une expertise de base sur les conflits humains-faune, comme elle l'a fait pour la gestion des stocks d'ivoire. Cela comprendra une boîte à outils sur les techniques et technologies disponibles pour résoudre les conflits actuels et éviter les conflits futurs, pour un déploiement à travers le continent.

 

Il existe déjà des projets sur la faune humaine dans de nombreuses régions d'Afrique, mais le continent a besoin d'une approche plus coordonnée et se renforçant mutuellement. L'EPI offre cette opportunité. Il encouragera le déploiement de technologies et de techniques existantes et nouvelles à travers le continent pour résoudre les conflits entre les humains et la faune et pour soutenir la planification spatiale. Une augmentation possible du braconnage global, compte tenu de l'impact de la pandémie de COVID-19, rend le déploiement de technologies de pointe et d'autres moyens de résolution des conflits plus important que jamais.

christine-donaldson-I7KBqnjN9xM-unsplash

THE EPI &

HUMAN-ELEPHANT CONFLICT

The EPI Foundation will pursue two inter-related strategies to galvanise support for EPI countries to help them manage and avoid human wildlife conflict and ensure the harmonious coexistence of elephants and people to 2030 and beyond;

  • Managing existing human wildlife conflicts, by deploying the best available technologies and techniques, and;

  • Avoiding the conditions that could lead to future conflicts, through spatial planning and, again, the best use of available technologies and techniques.

The EPI Foundation will attract core expertise on human wildlife conflict, just as it has done for ivory stockpile management. This will include a toolkit on available techniques and technologies for addressing current conflicts and avoiding future conflicts, for deployment across the continent.

 

There are already human wildlife projects in many parts of Africa, but the continent needs a more coordinated and mutually supportive approach. The EPI offers this opportunity. It will encourage the deployment of existing and new technologies and techniques across the continent to address human wildlife conflict, and to support spatial planning. A possible increase in overall poaching, considering the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, makes the deployment of advanced technology and other means of resolving conflicts more important than ever.

Connect with the EPI

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle

Subscribe to the EPI Newsletter

The EPI is an inter-governmental initiative supported by the Elephant Protection Initiative Foundation, by acting as its secretariat. 
The EPI Foundation is a UK Registered Charity- No. 1182805. UK Registered Company No. 11594608. The EPI Foundation is supported by Stop Ivory Inc - US registered non-profit organization, tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the US Internal Revenue Code, No. 81-2283286- and Conservation International: Registered as a 501(c)(3) organisation, No. 52-1497470. 2011 Crystal Drive, Suite 500, Arlington, VA 22202

© 2020 by Elephant Protection Initiative Foundation.